Congratulations to our Final Four!

Thank you to everyone who took the time to share their stories with us. We appreciated the candid and genuine reasons for why you serve and how you hope to make an impact in your community. These were great reminders of why we are so proud to partner with law enforcement to serve those in our shared communities.

After much deliberation, the final four are:

  1. Deputy Brittany Whitcomb, Office of the Fayette County Sheriff, Kentucky
    • Cause: The Amanda Center, a division of the Sheriff’s Victim Services Division. The Center provides services to victims of domestic violence and their families.
  2. Officer Janie Staples, St. Petersburg Police department, Florida
    • Cause: Police Explorer Program #980. Help Explorers train, compete in competitions, teach them honesty, integrity, and help them help others.
  3. Community Engagement Officer Scott Marks, Minnetonka Police Department, Minnesota
    • Cause: Aftercare program and officer wellness program aimed to raise awareness about and provide education on mental health.
  4. Lieutenant Andy Wilburn, Radford City Police, Virginia
    • Cause: Help Save the Next Girl foundation. The organization was formed in honor of Morgan Dana Harrington, a 20-year-old Virginia Tech student who was abducted and murdered in 2009. The foundation aims to sensitize young women and girls to predatory danger, foster mutual respect and camaraderie with young men, and develop vital relationships with media and law enforcement to augment safety practices in our communities.

Next Steps for the Finalists

The four finalists have one week to produce a more in-depth video (no more than 5 minutes) to showcase how they will use the $5,000 grant to benefit their cause or charity of choice. We will post the final video submissions here where voting will be open to the public to decide the winner.

Every vote counts. Encourage those in and out of your communities to vote!

Best of luck!

Official Aftermath Service Grant Rules: The Aftermath Service Grant is open only to US law enforcement officers and first responders of the fifty (50) United States and the District of Columbia. Void where prohibited. All submissions must be video entries no longer than three (3) minutes in length. Entries are accepted until 7/15/2017. Four finalists are selected from the initial submissions and are announced on 7/21/2017. The finalists have an opportunity to create a long-form video to be shared across the country. The grant recipient is determined by popular vote and is announced on 8/14/2017. The grant recipient is awarded a $5,000 grant to be used for a charity or charitable cause of his or her choice. If no response is made by grant recipient by 8/16/2017, the grant is forfeited. Aftermath is not responsible for incorrectly formatted entry forms. All entrants agree to allow Aftermath to use their name, likeness, and video for perpetuity in marketing. By entering your email you agree to receive personalized Aftermath promotions and information from time to time. You may unsubscribe at any time. Odds of receiving the grant are dependent upon the number of valid applicants received. Service Grant is held by Aftermath, 75 Executive Drive, Suite 200, Aurora, IL 60504. For full rules, click here.